Stir Launches as a Dating App for Single Parents – Worth It?

Coming out as a single parent isn’t always easy on dating apps. We’ve even heard of people getting ghosted after telling their matches about their kids, making them wonder if they’ll ever find love. And that’s why some people are now using Stir. As a single-parent dating app, moms and dads don’t have to stress out about mentioning their kids.

You might be drawn to the inclusive community, but is Stir actually a good dating app? We tested every feature, reviewed the membership base, and analyzed the data. Check out our complete Stir review to get all the answers.

Stir dating site homepage

No–Stir isn’t worth it at this point. The concept is great, and we like a lot of the app’s features. However, the lack of members is too big of a problem to ignore. As a single parent, you don’t have a lot of extra time, so having to drive an hour or longer to meet for dates is pretty much a dealbreaker.

Even more frustrating?

We pored over Stir reviews from users and noticed a common complaint. A lot of members say they can’t do much with a free account, and the paid subscriptions are a waste of money. They say they still don’t get many solid matches after upgrading and warn others about paying.

We might not love Stir, but there are lots of other good dating sites for single parents out there. Check out the best single parent dating apps and claim a free trial to get started today.

RankSiteFree Trial Link
#1eHarmonyTry eHarmony
#2ZooskTry Zoosk
#3Higher BondTry Higher Bond
#4Christian MingleTry Christian MingleChristian Mingle Logo
#5JdateTry JdateJdate Logo Icon

Overall Stir Rating

CategoryScore
Quality Matches4.0/10.0
Features6.0/10.0
Ease of Use8.0/10.0
Support9.0/10.0
Cost6.0/10.0
Overall6.6/10.0
stir logo

6.6/10.0

Pros and Cons of the Stir Dating App

Pros

  • Most members are single parents
  • Pretty even gender balance
  • Members can use Garbo to conduct background checks on potential dates

Cons

  • Small membership base
  • Few features for free members
  • Matches are often located an hour or more away
  • Poor messaging interface

Who Stir Is Good For

  • Single parents interested in dating other single parents
  • Single parents who have trouble finding partners with similar schedules
  • Childless singles who want to date people with kids
  • Single parents who don’t mind paying more for extra features

Who Stir Might Not Be Best For

  • Childless singles looking for partners without children
  • Parents who want to date people who don’t have kids
  • Singles who want a lot of options in their local area
  • Single parents who want more value for their money when paying for an app

Stir Review – Table of Contents

Fast Facts About Stir

  • Site Name: Stir
  • Paid or Free: Paid site with a limited free trial
  • Average Sign-Up Time: 5 minutes
  • Paid Membership Pricing: Plans starting as low as $11.99 per month
  • Unique Stir Facts and Figures
    • Launched on National Single Parents Day (March 21, 2022)
    • Available in the United States and parts of Canada
    • 450,000+ website visits a month
    • 500,000+ downloads on Google Play

Stir Features Resemble Those of Tinder

Stir isn’t as feature-rich as some other apps, such as eHarmony and Zoosk. Even so, we did notice a few unique features when researching our Stir dating app review. Let’s go over these different features so you’ll be able to get the most out of this single parent dating site.

StirTime

StirTime feature

Schedule management is a big deal for single parents. It’s far too easy to fall for someone only to realize your schedules don’t align. You can avoid that issue with StirTime.

After creating your account, click on your profile and tap “Edit.” Then, navigate to “StirTime” and set your availability. Choose the days of weeks and times (broken up into morning, afternoon, and evening), so the app can match you based on your availability.

Keep in mind that you can only add and edit your StirTime on the app. You can edit your profile on the web, but you won’t have access to StirTime.

Boost

stir dating sites boost feature

The Boost feature is included with premium subscriptions, and unpaid members can purchase Boosts separately. If enabled, Stir will place your profile at the top of the results for a full hour. This can help you get more views, likes, and connections.

Super Likes

stir superlike feature

If you really, really like someone on Stir, you can send a Super Like. Stir prioritizes Super Likes in the cardstack, making it easier for you to catch members’ eyes. While you’ll get Super Likes as part of the premium subscription, you can also purchase them if you’re a free member. Also, premium subscribers can buy more if they run out.

Stir Membership is Small but Seems to Be Growing

Stir’s membership base is on the small side, so our perception might change as it adds more users. Right now, we aren’t overly impressed by the membership base, though. We noticed that there weren’t many members in our local (urban) area, and we’d have to drive at least 200 miles to meet a match. After reading user reviews of Stir, we realized this is an app-wide issue.

Even worse, Stir doesn’t have many match filters, so it’s hard to find what you’re looking for in a partner. You’ll spend most of your time passing on people you don’t like than actually conversing with someone you do.

And speaking of conversing, we heard the conversations aren’t all that great on Stir.

First, lots of members say they deal with flaky people on this dating site. And second, we’ve heard complaints about bitter members who use the dating app to vent about their lives. That’s not exactly what you want to encounter when looking for a romantic partner. If anything, it’s the opposite of a romantic connection.

How to Sign Up at Stir

stir signup page

Our Stir review isn’t overly positive, but you might want to check it out for yourself. If so, click on the link below to claim your free trial to the single parent dating app. Then, hit the “Join” button on Stir’s website and answer some basic questions, such as your gender, date of birth, and what you’re looking for in a relationship. 

You’ll need to upload a photo to finish your profile. Then, click on your profile picture to open up the drop-down menu and select “Me.” From there, you can edit your profile and add your personal essay if you wish.

You can create your account in around five minutes, but you’ll need ten minutes or so if you write the essay. Also, you can add a couple more minutes to that by reading our post on online dating profile mistakes to avoid first. Then, you’ll create a killer profile that’ll help you connect with people.

Wh

What Does Pricing Look Like for Premium?

What You GetHow MuchCostTotal Cost
Premium Membership1 Month$29.99 a month$29.99
Premium Membership3 Months$19.99 a month$59.97
Premium Membership6 Months$11.99 a month$71.94
Boost1$3.00 each$3.00
Boost5$2.00 each$10.00
Boost10$1.50 each$15.00
Super Likes5$1.60 each$8.00
Super Likes15$1.30 each$19.50
Super Likes30$1.00 each$30.00

Customer Support Options

stir customer support

We evaluated the customer support options when creating our review of Stir. Let’s start with the robust FAQ section. We’re impressed by everything it covers, and it’s easy to find an answer to your question. Just use the search bar or click on one of the following categories:   

  • A Guide to Stir
  • Billing
  • Technical and Troubleshooting
  • Safety, Privacy, and Security

If you don’t find the answer to your question in the FAQ, you can click “Contact Us” to submit a request through the app’s messaging system. You’ll receive an automated email after submitting your ticket, so you’ll know your message made it to the right place.

Stir responds to messages within 48 hours, and it’s often faster than that. You’ll receive an email that goes over your problem and offers a solution if one is available. We think the customer support system is fast and professional, so it earns high marks.

Seriously, the only thing missing is live support. As long as you don’t mind waiting a day or two for a response, you won’t have any trouble with Stir’s support system. Also, we’ll update our review of the Stir dating app if it offers live chat in the future.


FAQ

Is Stir Only Open to Single Parents?

While Stir is technically a dating app for single parents, you don’t have to have kids to sign up. However, you should be open to dating people with kids if you use Stir. But being able to sign up doesn’t mean it’s the right dating site for you. Instead, we recommend creating an account on one of the best dating apps.

Why Are Mainstream Dating Apps Better than Stir?

We like the sense of community single parents find on Stir, but the dating site’s small user base makes it hard to find matches. Also, the matching system isn’t nearly as advanced as you’ll find on eHarmony and other mainstream dating sites. By using a mainstream site, you’ll get to be pickier when choosing dates – and won’t have to travel as far for love.

Choosing the right dating app is important as a single parent, but what happens once you meet someone? Get some help by checking out our dating advice for single parents

What’s the Difference Between a Free and Paid Membership?

You can send likes and chat with your mutual matches with a free subscription. A premium subscription lets you view who likes you and message members before matching. You can also rewind your actions and use private mode. Finally, these plans include a free Boost and Super Like a month.

According to user reviews of Stir, a lot of members aren’t happy with the free or paid subscriptions. Check out our dating app free trials if you’d like to save money while benefiting from a larger membership base and better matching system.

Where is Stir Available?

Stir is advertised as a dating app for single parents in the United States. When researching our Stir dating app review, we tried signing up with postal codes outside of the United States. We discovered that Stir also accepts members in some parts of Canada but not throughout the entire country.


Disclosure: We may earn a small commission from some links on this page. This never affects our rankings or recommendations. You may check out our full Monetization Transparency Policy here.

Photo of author

Author: Matt Seymour, MSF

Matthew J. Seymour is a dating industry expert with over a decade of experience coaching singles, reviewing dating apps, and analyzing trends within the industry. Matt is a published author with his most recent work “Get More Dates: How to Master Online Dating Apps” that hit shelves in 2023. With a Masters of Science in Finance (MSF) degree from the University of Florida and extensive knowledge of the innerworkings of the online dating industry, Matt frequently serves in an advisory role to some of the largest dating apps on the market. In Matt’s current role with Healthy Framework, he leads the interview team that regularly interviews key dating industry leaders, and leverages his financial knowledge and dating app experience to review and share what singles need to know to get the most out of dating online.