OurTime Review

Our Time is an online dating website that caters to singles in the 50+ age demographic. Available on iOS, Android, and through the web, the site aims to offer an inclusive (and exclusive) dating experience for singles in their later years of life.

But if you know much about online dating, you know there are quite a few options out there for single seniors looking for like-minded people. This begs the million-dollar question—is Our Time the right option for you?

In this thorough Our Time dating site review, our team is going to pop open the hood and show you everything you need to know. By the end of this review, you’ll be able to decide if Our Time is the right fit for you, and we’ll even share some great alternative options in case it’s not.

Our Time Screenshot

Our Time – The Bottom Line Up Front

Our Time is certainly one of the more popular dating sites available that cater to singles over 50. But popularity doesn’t always mean it’s the best; it could just mean they have a big marketing budget, which is certainly the case for a dating site owned by Match Group.

Here’s what we like about the Our Time dating site.

  • We like the exclusivity for singles over 50
  • We like the popularity of the site which does drive a larger user base

And here’s what we don’t really like:

  • The website feels antiquated like it hasn’t had a full update in a while
  • There could be more security features to protect users who are new to technology
  • There may be better options out there for single seniors (outlined below)

Ultimately, Our Time is by no means a bad site and it certainly doesn’t have anything glaringly wrong with it. In fact, we have heard of many singles having success on the platform. It could be worth checking out, especially with the amount they put behind marketing which probably drives some higher membership numbers.

For us, though, there may be a few other options out there that could be more fruitful. We’d highly recommend starting by checking out SilverSingles—another niche-focused dating website for singles 50+, and eHarmony—a traditional dating app for all ages but with great filters to get the exact age and type of person you’re looking for.

Both of those sites are listed below with a few other great options—all with some free trials to check them out.

Best Our Time Alternatives (With Free Trials)

RankSiteFree Trial Link 
#1SilverSinglesFree Trial
#2eHarmonyFree Trial
#3Christian MingleFree Trial
#4ZooskFree Trial
#5Elite SinglesFree Trial

Overall Our Time Rating

CategoryScore
Quality Matches7.5/10.0
Features6.0/10.0
Ease of Use7.0/10.0
Support7.0/10.0
Cost7.5/10.0
Overall6.5/10.0

6.5/10.0

Our Time logo

Pros and Cons of the Our Time Dating App

Pros

  • Available in the US, Canada, UK, and a few other European countries
  • Variety of payment options to fit all budgets. 
  • Good split between men and women using the app.

Cons

  • Communication features are behind a paywall. 
  • No identity verification to enhance profiles and security 
  • Rural members may see less matches than those in the city.

Who Our Time Is Good For

  • Older singles who are tired of competing with 20-30 year olds on dating apps. 
  • Anyone that enjoys the flexibility of having multiple payment options. 
  • Those who want to be able to try out a site before they buy a membership. 

Who Our Time Might Not Be Best For

  • Younger singles (under 50).
  • Singles that only want to have quick and meaningless romances. 
  • Users seeking an app that lets them chat for free.

Our Time Review – Table of Contents

What is Our Time?

Our Time is an online dating website and app created specifically and exclusively for single men and women 50 years of age or older. The site was founded on May 10, 2011 by IAC, the owners of Match Group, which includes other big brands like Tinder, Match.com, OkCupid, and Hinge).

The platform is available on the web (desktop), in the iOS store (Apple), and in the Google Play store (Android). Regarding matchmaking, Our Time follows the classic and traditional approach to online dating where users create profiles, search through matches and options, and then message people they are interested in.

Fast Facts About Our Time

  • Site Name: OurTime.com
  • Paid or Free: Paid site with a limited free trial
  • Average Sign-Up Time: > 5 minutes
  • Paid Membership Pricing: Plans starting at $15.96 per month
  • Unique Our Time Facts and Figures
    • 45% of users are men and 55% are women. 
    • Over 69% of users on Our Time identify as single parents. 
    • One of the top 10 fastest growing dating sites for singles age 50+. 
    • Users can download a free IOS app, which has a 4 star rating.

Our Time Features Overview

The Our Time dating site does have several features that are worth looking at if you’re trying to see if it’s a good fit for you. These are the bread and butter of dating sites and one of the most important details to review before determining which site is best for you. Take a look through some of our favorite Our Time features, below! 

Promote Me

Promote Me is a feature paid for with tokens. These tokens can be used to unlock a multitude of bonus features. When you unlock Promote Me (for 20 tokens) your profile is pushed to the top of local singles’ search results. This leads to a large increase in traffic to your inbox! 

Virtual Gifts

Virtual Gifts are another feature that can be purchased with tokens. The gifts cost between 10-75 tokens and are digitally sent to the person of your choice. It is a great way to grab someone’s attention and let them know how much you like them. 

Notify Me 

Notify Me is purchased with 20 tokens. This lets you put a log in tracker on a specific user for 7 days. When that user logs in to Our Time, you will be personally notified! 

Profile and Message Highlights

Value Plan members get access to this unique feature! With Profile and Message Highlighting, your profile and messages will be displayed to others in a glowing yellow color, to help you stand out among the crowd! 

Profile Pro

If you aren’t much of a wordsmith and worry about the quality of your profile, you may enjoy this token-purchased feature. Profile Pros are part of the Our Time team. You provide them with your information and they custom craft you an enticing profile! 

Connect Me

Connect Me is a token feature that works to keep you safe. When you use Connect Me, you can text or call members through an Our Time routed number, which keeps your private information safe from your matches!

The Quality of Singles at Our Time

What’s nice about the quality of singles on Our Time is that they are all going to be in your desired age bracket. While there is no age verification or ID verification processes, the site does have ways for people to report younger users who may be trying to slip through the cracks.

The issue, though, does come depending on where you live. We have heard anecdotal reports that if you don’t live in a major city, you may have issues finding a lot of matches. Generally, the number of users is a common problem for niche dating apps. While it’s certainly not as big of a problem with the Our Time dating site as it is with other niche sites, it’s still something to be aware of.

How to Sign Up at Our Time

Our Time has a pretty fast sign up process. You start by filling in some basic details about who you are interested in, your age, and where you are from. Then, you need to add a name and email and you are basically done signing up.

You can fill out more information on your profile after signing up, but the process from not being a member to being a member takes less than 5 minutes.

Price | How Much Does Our Time Cost?

Membership TypeMembership LengthMonthly CostTotal Cost
Standard1 month$34.96$34.96
Standard6 months$15.96$95.76
Value6 months$19.96$119.76
Tokens55 credits$0.05 per credit$2.99
Tokens110 credits$0.05 per credit$5.99
Tokens280 credits$0.04 per credit$9.99

Customer Support Options

Our Time members can seek support through a thorough FAQ page. The page includes a search function that allows for fast navigation of the topics covered. If users don’t find the answers they need on the FAQ, they can access a contact form that allows them to submit their question directly to the customer support team. 

The user should receive a response to their personal email in less than 72 hours, according to reports.

FAQ

Is Our Time LGBTQ+ Friendly?

Yes! Our Time does allow you to sign up and seek relationships from the same identified gender. The number of users signing up for queer relationships may be a bit smaller, so expect a smaller pool of singles as compared to other users. However, these differences are seen in most major apps that cater to both hetero and homosexual relationships. 

Is Our Time Good for Casual Hookups?

No. Our Time is a place to make meaningful connections, whether they be romantic or friendly in nature. The site’s users tend to be focused on finding a life-long partner and not a one night stand. 

Can I Find True Love on the Our Time dating site?

Yes! When you search for Our Time reviews, you can find thousands of people remarking on how they’ve met new friends and meaningful love through Our Time. Of course, these reviews will always be speckled with those who didn’t succeed. Just remember, if you keep a flush profile and treat people with respect, you have great chances of meeting someone great! 

Do I Have to Pay to Reply to Messages?

Most members have to pay for a membership to reply to messages, but there is a work around. If a member really wants to talk to you, but you don’t have chatting unlocked, they can use the Reply for Free feature. This is a feature that allows the paid member to spend tokens to unlock your chat, so that you can communicate without having to pay for a membership! 

What Can I Do With a Free Membership?

Free members can:

  • Sign up
  • Create their profile
  • Search through members
  • Talk to members who use their Reply for Free feature